The Political Lounge

Within vs. In

Cal

In case you weren’t aware, these two words are used differently (which I learned recently)

Within is used for being within a range, while in is used for being inside of something whether it’s a range or not. 

Thanks, high-school and college English for letting me get this far. (Shout out to using “amount” wrong for years too)

• Based 2

5 hours ago, Cal said:

In case you weren’t aware, these two words are used differently (which I learned recently)

Within is used for being within a range, while in is used for being inside of something whether it’s a range or not. 

Thanks, high-school and college English for letting me get this far. (Shout out to using “amount” wrong for years too)

Don't feel too bad:  I was well into my 20s before I discovered that "rolls" and "rules" are pronounced differently.

And I am a professional spokesman.  ;c)

5 hours ago, Patine said:

You don't achieve my echelon of verbosity and edification without erudition to such proficiency in phraseology. 😛

Verbosity, certainly.

Edification, a matter of opinion.

Erudition and proficiency, no comment.

Just now, Patine said:

Everyone on this forum is both a pot and a kettle. It's showing of your unfortunate lack of insight and understanding of social dynamics that you haven't realized that yet...

Pot

10 minutes ago, Patine said:

Everyone on this forum is both a pot and a kettle. It's showing of your unfortunate lack of insight and understanding of social dynamics that you haven't realized that yet...

Never said I wasn't a pot 😛